Georgetown Cupcake – Not Gonna Sugarcoat it

21 Sep

Welcome back y’all! As I said last week, I felt it was only appropriate to critique the most famous cupcake shop in D.C. first, Georgetown Cupcake. That being said, maybe it was case of  high expectations or the fact that it took me three tries to actually get a cupcake (I’ll explain later) or the fact that the product was pretty darn mediocre, but let’s just say I was less than impressed.

I had my first “research” project all planned out for Saturday while my dad, aunt and uncle were in town. We went into Georgetown for lunch and by the time we were ready to get a cupcake the line was not only out the door but a good ways around the block. My family said that as much as they loved me they weren’t waiting in that line. Can you blame them? My mediocre experience would have been TRULY disappointing if I had to wait in that line.

The second time I tried going was on Sunday and I had the same problem. But today I FINALLY got my cupcake. Hooray! Turns out that going to Georgetown Cupcake involves strategy. Early morning + rain = WINNING COMBINATION!

I will always try to say something positive about every place I visit. I guess it’s the true southerner in me that wants to put a positive spin on everything. That being said, the building itself is ridiculously cute and inviting. Everything inside is either pink or white and is adorned with bright Japanese lanterns, bright flowers and filled with modern furniture. The staff is young, fresh, professional and friendly and the service is very prompt and organized.

Now onto the main event – the cupcakes! I wanted to get something traditional/classic (red velvet), something very sweet/rich (chocolate ganache) and something a little different (coconut). I would give the icing itself on all an A but the cake wasn’t anything special. If a friend on mine had made these cupcakes I would have been genuinely impressed, but for this to be their business? Meh…it wasn’t anything great. I also don’t think the hype surrounding this place helped. Whoever does  their advertising/PR/marketing deserves the highest honors. It seems to be a case of the brand exceeding the actual product. I will say that the price of the cupcakes is low (about $3) compared to most cupcakes places I’ve visited in the past and the size is very manageable (some of the cupcakes I’ve gotten recently are just too overwhelming).

Obviously America has given them a higher grade than me but I’ve gotta give them a B-.

Front Counter + Cupcakes

The outside of Georgetown Cupcake

Leave a Reply

