Old Ebbitt Grill

27 Sep

Outside of Old Ebbitt Grill

Old Ebbitt Grill is a well-known DC landmark for spotting politicians, journalists and other famous people in the political realm. So for me, going there was like playing the childhood game “Where’s Waldo?” I was hoping to see a famous political couple like James Carville and Mary Matalin or some famous journalist like Suzanne Malveaux.

While I was a little disappointed that I didn’t find ‘Waldo’, the dessert I got was out of this world. I got the creme brulee and my aunt got the peanut butter pie. The creme brulee comes in a manageable portion and is not overly sweet. It was light, creamy and perfect. Eating it made me want to buy one of those mini blow torches from William-Sonoma and make it myself. The peanut butter pie was extremely rich, but if taken in small doses is delicious. It is coated in whipped cream and chocolate sauce and sprinkled with both chocolate and peanut chips. It’s a peanut butter lover’s dream come true! 🙂

The restaurant itself is very fast-paced, busy and a little claustrophobic until you get into the dining area. However, once you’re seated and you get the chance to look around, you’d think you’re at dimly lit country club. Old school looking trophies, stuffed mallards and dark wood line the walls. However, the decor somehow seems perfectly appropriate for the famous clientele its known to serve. I’d give Old Ebbitt Grill desserts an A-!

Delicious Creme brulee!

Rich and dreamy peanut butter pie!

One Response to “Old Ebbitt Grill”

  1. BigR May 12, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I like the presentation of creme brulle. The crust on it looks perfect.

Leave a Reply

