Crumbs Bake Shop – Arlington, VA

28 Sep

This kind of cupcake assortment is a sweet lover's dream come true!

Sweet lovers out there…Ever get tired of the same old red velvet or vanilla cupcake? Look no further for a creative spin on cupcakes than Crumbs Bake Shop. I can honestly say I’m in love with this place! Their cupcakes creations are innovative and even though they’re a far cry from traditional, they do non-traditional oh so well. So far (on several different visits) I’ve tried the milkshake, s’mores, cookies and cream, rocky road and the squiggle.

Emily and Meghan eating a cookies and cream cupcake!

Coming in this place with several customers inside is a somewhat entertaining experience. People pace back and forth several times trying to make their decision, deep in thought. There is a lot to choose from here. In addition to the ones I’ve tried, they also have ones like apple cobbler, chocolate sundae, cotton candy, cookie dough, peanut butter cup and even a cosmo cupcake, just to name a few. However, don’t worry if you lean toward something plain. Crumbs has options like vanilla with sprinkles, red velvet and carrot cake for you!

On my most recent trip to Crumbs, I had the great company of two lovely ladies, Meghan and Emily. Both have a love for sweets – Meghan’s obsession is frosting and Emily’s is cake. Therefore, I knew they’d be the perfect duo to critique these cupcakes with me. They shared the cookies and cream cupcake while I tried the squiggle. Meghan, the frosting lover, was a little disappointed their wasn’t a frosting center but she loved the frosting on top. The frosting was a little too sweet for my taste but the cake portion was perfect.

The Squiggle!

Now for the squiggle…So remember those Hostess cupcakes your mom packed in your lunch box as a little kid? Try the squiggle cupcake and you’ll think you’re eating the grown up version of it. It’s truly amazing. The squiggle is definitely a winner but my favorite by far though is the rocky road cupcake. While it might look a little over the top on the surface, it surprisingly isn’t. The marshmallow frosting is very light and there is a pleasant marshmallow surprise in the middle. It is sprinkled with walnut shavings on top and little mini marshmallows. To date, this is my favorite cupcake place. I give it a solid A! 🙂

Also, while poking around on the Internet this week I came across another interesting dessert blog called Dessert Girl that I thought I’d share. 🙂 The writer is a self-proclaimed sugarholic as well but posts pictures of both uniquely designed and beautiful desserts. My favorite was the embroidery cake blog entry. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

2 Responses to “Crumbs Bake Shop – Arlington, VA”

  1. Stuart Moland November 27, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great design .

    • dcsweettooth November 30, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

      Thank you, thank you! 🙂 Visit on my blog all you want. It’s much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

