Sprinkles Cupcakes DC – Love it!

10 Oct

Saturday was gorgeous in DC. It was sunny, mild and slightly breezy. That morning I stepped onto my porch, sat down in my chair and sipped slowly on hot tea. At that moment, I decided it was a perfect day for a long walk AND a cupcake of course. And today I was going to earn my cupcake! I put on a good pair of walking shoes and trekked out to Georgetown – a good 50 minute walk – just one way.

I had to smile to myself as a walked down M Street and saw a veryyy long line, stretched as far as the eye can see at Georgetown Cupcake. Thank goodness I was headed somewhere else! I was heading to the store of Georgetown Cupcake’s arch rival…Sprinkles Cupcakes. Dun, dun, dun! πŸ˜‰

The store itself is very small but clean, inviting and cute. My dad ordered the milk chocolate cupcake and I order the chocolate marshmallow. I have to say that after trying his I had serious cupcake envy, since that’s all he was willing to share. πŸ™‚ The icing to cake ratio on his was perfect and the cake wasn’t overly dry or soft. The chocolate marshmallow on the other hand was a fairly dry and could have used more icing. The marshmallow center was absolutely delicious though! Truth be told – I’ve been here before but BEFORE I started the blog. I can tell you that the girls I went with (my absolute bestie and her sister) said these were some of the best cupcakes they’ve ever had. On that particular trip I had the peanut butter cupcake and it was simply to die for…much similar in quality to the milk chocolate one! I will definitely be making a cupcake trip back to M Street…but only to one store which is? Drum roll please!…………..

………..Sprinkles Cupcakes. I give their cupcakes an A! I’m excited to see continued success from this company. πŸ™‚ Tune into Cupcake Wars on the Food Network to see Sprinkles Cupcake founder Candace Nelson who helps judge the show.

[FYI – As some of you may know, many cupcake shops have pink cupcakes this month in honor of breast cancer awareness month. I would encourage you to buy one as a portion of your cupcake cost will go directly to research. Tune in later this week when I give a list of some of those cupcake places! ]

Display case filled with yummy cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

