Firehook Bakery

20 Nov

Pumpkin Cupcake

With it being less than a week away from Thanksgiving, I made it my mission to get something seasonal. I’ve been craving pumpkin everything recently and wanted something to celebrate one of my favorite upcoming holidays. With that in mind, I trekked out to Dupont Circle to a bakery I’ve heard some rave reviews about…Firehook Bakery. Firehook has locations all over DC and the DC area.

Maybe it was my high expectations but the pumpkin cupcake wasn’t anything special. The cake was pretty dry; however, if it hadn’t been I think this would have been a pretty good cupcake. The frosting was delicious – creamy and rich.

The seven-layer bar on the other hand was pure heaven. It has a graham cracker crust topped with chocolate and butterscotch chips and pecan and coconut shavings. There’s a lot going on with this dessert bar – it’s rich but the blend of ingredients is pure perfection.

They also serve cookies, pies and tarts. In addition to the chocolately goodness that this place serves up, they also have breakfast and lunch items. Can’t wait to go back for breakfast here at some point in the near future! 🙂

Seven-layer Bar

Firehook Bakery in Dupont Circle

2 Responses to “Firehook Bakery”

  1. Elektrische Zahnbuerste November 22, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Aw, this really is an extremely good post. In thought I would like to put in spot writing like this moreover – spending time and actual effort to create a very good article… but exactly what do I say… I procrastinate alot by way of no indicates appear to get something accomplished.

    • dcsweettooth November 30, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      You are so sweet and you made my day. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

